New Journey, New Adventures: UK

BOYFRIEND VISITING / DUTCH HOUSEWARMING

Hey guys!

It's already February which means a new month with new exciting adventures in the UK! My boyfriend came over to visit me on Friday last week! It was really nice to spend some time together. We visited Portsmouth on Saturday which is a very nice city. It's a little to the east and close to the coast which means that we stayed half of the day at the beach because the weather was so beautiful. The sun was shining bright and the temperature felt really good so it made me very happy.

We also went to visit the Emmirates Spinnaker Tower which is a very cool building from the outside! There is an elevator inside and on top of the building, you find a restaurant so went to have lunch and had a nice view over the harbour and city.

On Sunday we did a citytour through Southampton which was ofcourse breathtaking - not. I showed him around the city, we did some shopping, walked up to the harbour and we had dinner. On Monday we went to visit Winchester, a cute and tiny city, north of Southampton. On Tuesday, we found out that there is a beautiful park, close to my house so we went for a walk. The weather was beautiful again so there were all dogs playing around. I didn't even have to wear a jacket so believe me: UK hasn't always shitty weather like everyone is saying.

I went to the airport to say goodbye to Jacco in the afternoon and afterwards I had one lecture at the university: presenting skills. I really like the new class! We have lectures on Tuesday so we learn how to become a good presenter and do practical stuff on Friday which means; writing a script for television, presenting in front of the green screen etc. In a couple of weeks, I will have my first exam in which I have to write and present a bulletin about the lastest fashion trends/news.

On Friday we gave our housewarming. We invited quite a lot of people because we didn't expect them all coming. We ended up with over thirty students in our livingroom which isn't really made for that many people. But we had lots of fun; played beerpong, listened to music and I talked to a lot of people I never talked to before so that was nice as well.

So far, everything goes well and I'm getting used to the new living situation. Brittish people are known friendly and they are. For sure. But the Brittish students don't really talk to the internationale ones so that sucks a little bit. By the way, I got a question on my lastest blog (shout-out to my dad ) if I could explain the differences between school and living in the UK and the United States.

Well first of all, I think most of the things in both countries are really similar to each other. While I spend a year abroad in the US (2013-2014), the American students were very interested in me and my country so it was very nice to share those things. The Brittish students obviously are not which is okay but just different. Besides that, there is a thing that both schools have in common: the schoolsystem is very informal. Teachers are so nice and friendly and not formal at all which I thought they would be. Especially here in UK. Besides that, the streetview looks quite the same which I told in one of my blogs before; a lot of fastfood chains in every single street. Difference; Southampton is a city with two big universities which means lots of bars and clubs. The drinking and clubbing age in the US is 21+ so the only thing I found on the streets were huge coke's and burgers. (Which was okay for me as well )

The nightlife is a lot better here and you get around easily, there is a very good public transport system were in America, the only transport you could use was a car which sucked for me because I wasn't able to drive over there. But so far, I like both experiences and I don't think that you can compare them to each other; I have grown up, got new interests and hobbies and I experienced new things and situations in the past couple of years. I think both experiences will end with really good memories and I'm just really thankful that I got the chance to experience this adventure abroad.

That's it for now. Many cool things coming up soon. I'm going camping with friends at the Isle of Wight, beautiful Island south of Southampton. Also, my family is going to visit London by the end of the month so I'll go visit them for a couple of days. So another update by the end of this month! See ya.

X

Femke

Reacties

Reacties

Maarten Molenaar

Leuke blog, je hebt een boel ondernomen in de afgelopen weken. Ik ben verbaasd over het grote aantal fastfoodzaken in Engeland, had ik niet verwacht. Gelukkig maak je ook zelf gezonde (toch?) maaltijden klaar.
Er liggen hier twee reisgidsen van Londen om straks in vier dagen zo veel mogelijk te zien - en om jou weer te zien. We hebben er zin in!
Martin Miller and family.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!