New Journey, New Adventures: UK

INTRODUCTION WEEK IN UK

Hi guys!

So I finally got to the UK last Sunday. I hang out with friends the week before, went out for lunch, had some parties and I started packing which was - like always - an issue. I had one suitcase so my stuff for five months needed to be packed real good. I still had to pack a lot of stuff on the morning of departure but it worked out well.

I went to Schiphol Airport Sunday afternoon together with my parents and boyfriend. Suddenly one of my best friends Melanie appeared and suprised me. Everyone knew about it besides me so it was a really sweet surprise and goodbye. I got in the plane and my hand luggage didn't fit in the cabine at all. I decided to put it under my chair but the women who was sitting next to me didn't really like me I guess. All the other stuff like my jackets and backpack where half on her spot so at the end, I kinda scared her away and she moved to another spot in the plane which meant that I had her spot to use as well. Too bad the flight was only one hour.

Whenever I arrived in Southampton, I took a cap to my airbnb where I will stay for the upcoming ten days. It's a real nice room, only thing is that there's isn't a kitchen so I ate mcdonalds and Tacobell for the last five days. (You don't hear me nag by the way).

So first day in UK, I almost got hit by plenty of cars because I still have to get used to the fact that they drive on the other side of the road. It's so confusing, especially the roundabouts. Besides that, it feels like I'm back in the United States cause there are fastfood chains everywhere. We don't have most of them in Holland so I guess I will have to try all of them.

So on Monday, I went to campus for a lunch with two Dutch girls who have been here for the first semester. After, I did a little bit of shopping because the centre is really nice. There are some nice stores like Urban Outfitters, Topshop, Primark, Zara and H&M. I didn't have any expectations before so I was surprised to find out that Southampton is actually a really nice city. After, I went out for dinner with a Dutch guy Julyan, who goes to the same school in Holland as I do. We have all classes together so at least I know someone already which is nice.

On Tuesday we went to school for our first meeting. We got our introduction timetable and received information about the university and places around. In the evening, I went out for dinner with two Danish girls. Burgers again.

On Wednesday, I went to school to get my student ID card. Besides that, I needed to have some documents signed. We had a welcome party in the evening at a pub and it was nice to get to know some people. Found out that there were two other Dutch people and mostly Germans and Spanish students. Afterwards, we grabbed some dinner and left to a students flat to play beerpong.

Today, we had a city rally, event organized by the university. Just to get to know the city and new people as well. Fun fact; we thought that we had been finding the places very fast because we visited them already during the last couple of days. So we came back to the spot where we were supposed to meet again and everyone was already waiting for us. They even asked if we got lost and tried to reach us. After, we went to a pub again, hung out and drunk some beer.

Tomorrow, it's the last day of introduction and we will go out for lunch with a big group of Dutchies and Italians. Next week classes start. I actually got my timetable today and I only have classes on Monday and Tuesday which means that I can go on many trips if my bank account let me do so.

So well. First week almost done. I'm enjoying the city and people a lot and felt at home right away. The weather has been really nice; sunny and blye sky every day. I still put my umbrella in my backpack because you never know; I'm still in the UK.

Next Wednesday I will move into my appartment with the four other Dutch students. Very excited because it looks so nice and I'm finally able to cook something healthy.

So far, everything goes very well. See you next time.

X

Femke

Reacties

Reacties

Maarten Molenaar

Hoi Femke, goed om te lezen dat je het naar je zin hebt? Volgens mij zul je niet snel aan stress ten onder gaan, gezien je lesrooster ...
Tot Skype,

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!