New Journey, New Adventures: UK

FIRST WEEK OF SCHOOL / LONDON / PARTY'S

Hi Guys!

So this is my second week at the university already, which doesn't really feel like it because I only go to school on Monday's en Fridays. I got my timetable during my introductionweek and changed it a bit because I only had 3 units which meant 3-6 hours of school a week. I'll just give you a short look of how my week here looks like.

On Monday I go to school 9 AM till 6 PM which is really exhausting after a weekend of partying and going on trips. I start the day with magazine production which is fun. We are creating a magazine with a small group and get lessons on how to use InDesign. After having lunchbreak for an hour, I go to music journalism which isn't my favorite but it's okay. I write reviews, profiles and I need to do interviews with some artists/bands. I decided last week to take an extra unit: Applied and academic English. I think it's useful; I meet other international students and learn about how to write essays in Harvard style. Besides that, they teach me how to create a good CV and we practise with speaking tests for job interviews.

I used to have another class on Wednesday which was supposed to be my favorite; it's mostly filming and editing video's but it's going to take a lot of my freetime away so I decided to change the unit. Instead, I'm doing fashion journalism combined with presenting television programms. We have a very nice and professional television studio at the university so I'm excited for my first class on Friday.

So on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, I don't do that much which is okay for now. I feel a bit like a house mommy; doing grociery's, some laundry, cleaning etc. But it's gonna botter me soon, so I decided to sign up for fitness classes during those days. Just working out with a bunch of other students so it's a great way to meet other people and stay in shape. I'm probably gonna need that because of all the fastfood chains on every corner of the street.

Besides university, the four other Dutch students and I moved in our appartment exactly a week ago and we really enjoy it. We share a livingroom and a kitchen, two bathrooms and five bedrooms. I take the bus to university for about ten minutes so it's not that bad. There is a grociery store close to our appartment and that's need because we kinda live 'far' away from the city centre (Southampton isn't that big) which means that Deliveroo (UK name for Thuisbezorgd) doesn't really deliver any good food to our house.

So on Thursday last week I went to Ikea because I wanted to buy some nice stuff for my room to make it cosy. I'm happy with the result!

On Friday, I went to London with two of my roommates. We just walked around, saw the highlights of the city, did some shopping, walked even more and went home late in the evening. It's only one and a half hour by train from Southampton railway station so I'll be in London a lot of times these months. On Saturday we went to the soccer match Southampton VS Arsenal. Southampton lost 5-0 so we ended up in the pub, drinking beer to forget about the defeat.

Yesterday night, we went to a welcoming party for all international students from both universities in Southampton. I met a lot of new people, we danced, had drinks and it was just really fun. We all wore white t-shirts so everyone could write something on it with a marker. It's a nice memory of a fun night!

This upcoming weekend, my boyfriend is coming to visit me and we are planning on visiting Porthmouth which should be a very nice city. I'll give an update about it soon!

X

Femke

Reacties

Reacties

Maarten Molenaar

Dag Femke,
ik ben benieuwd naar de verschillen die jij ervaart tussen de Engelsen en de Amerikanen. Je bent in beide landen geweest, niet als tijdelijke toerist maar als tijdelijke inwoner. Wat valt je op? En hoe anders zijn wij Nederlanders dan? Looking forward to your opinion!

Groet,
D. Addy.

Melanie

Wat leuk dat Jacco dit weekend komt! Veel plezier samen! XXX

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!